Taking Care of your Hearing

Taking care of your hearing

Today’s post is the last before I take a break for the summer.

Noise seems to increase during late spring and into the summer – lawnmowers, power sprayers, road construction, construction, outdoor concerts, live music outside of restaurants, skidoos, motor boats, etc., etc.  (Or, if you live in NYC, near the Brookfield Properties development, you might be part of this group, as it tries to deal with the noise of construction.)

So, to say farewell for now, I thought I would let you know about some new earplugs I found recently.earpeace  Earpeace earplugs

I keep my eyes peeled for information about earplugs. One day, right there on Kijiji, I saw a small ad for Earpeace earplugs. I clicked, read the ad, went to the website to order and away went my Paypal info.

The next day I got an email telling me that the Canadian distributors lived right here in Peterborough, and if I wanted to save postage costs, I could just go downtown and get my plugs.

Off I went, and I met Peter and Connor, two young men who are very excited about Earpeace plugs. (They have managed to get permission to be vendors at the Ottawa Jazz Festival and at Boots and Hearts, the nearby Havelock country music festival, so hopefully all sorts of people will be using these earplugs soon.)

I bought my set and headed home. I have tried the plugs in a few settings: cutting the lawn, walking down the street, and powercleaning the back deck. And they work! I like them. They attenuate sound by about 17 dBs, which makes the noise I was near quite tolerable. They don’t block sound completely, which I also like.

I recommend these earplugs. They come in a nice little aluminum container, with a wee lanyard for attaching the container to your keys. AND they provide an extra plug!

(BTW – I paid for my set, so this is not a paid advert!)

 Here is the main website: http://www.earpeace.com/

And here is the local link, via Kijiji: http://www.kijiji.ca/v-artists-musicians/peterborough/ear-peace-high-fidelity-earplugs-hearing-protection/592559367?enableSearchNavigationFlag=true

Here are some reviews:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1J7r4jhzCE

http://golosangeles.about.com/od/TravelProductReviews/fr/EarPeace-Ear-Plugs.htm

http://zesoundsuite.blogspot.ca/2011/08/high-fidelity-ear-plugs-from-ear-peace.html

If you want to avoid noise during the summer, or whenever, try them!

I will be back in September. In the meantime, take care of your hearing!

BTW – you might want to order one of these T-shirts!   https://www.threadless.com/product/5298/the-sound-of-silence?j=20696291&e=cpaterso28@yahoo.ca&l=6061_HTML&u=268916057&mid=88299&jb=2385&utm_medium=ExactTarget&utm_source=2014-06-06Newformat_reprints&utm_campaign=All%20Subscribers&utm_term=reprintedtees

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

